We, the presidents of the Jesuit colleges and universities in the United States, condemn in the strongest terms the assault on our democratic processes by the mob that attempted to interfere with yesterday’s Electoral College certification in our nation’s capital. We join with those citizens and civic organizations across the country that call for an end to the rhetoric and violence that have surrounded this otherwise peaceful election.

Violence of any kind is inimical to the principles of democracy upon which this nation was built. The motivations and actions of those who have persisted in denigrating our system of laws are a sad and unfortunate result of tactics that have torn the fabric of our nation.

The president and his adherents bear responsibility for perpetuating false rumors and unsubstantiated facts regarding the election. It is time that the president concede his loss to duly-elected President Biden and allow the smooth and peaceful transition of power, which will be completed on January 20th.

As leaders of institutions dedicated to the promotion of justice and truth, we commit ourselves to working for understanding and reconciliation in the days ahead. We call for a recommitment to the ideals of fairness, justice, racial equity, and inclusion to which our nation aspires today.

Click on institutional names in bold to view individual statements online.

Tania Tetlow, J.D.
President, Loyola University New Orleans

Dr. Michael R. Lovell
President, Marquette University

Rev. John P. Fitzgibbons, S.J.
President, Regis University

Rev. Thomas B. Curran, S.J.
President, Rockhurst University

Dr. Mark C. Reed
President, Saint Joseph’s University

Dr. Fred Pestello
President, Saint Louis University

Dr. Eugene J. Cornacchia
President, Saint Peter’s University

Rev. Kevin F. O’Brien, S.J.
President, Santa Clara University

Rev. Stephen V. Sundborg, S.J.
President, Seattle University

Dr. E. Joseph Lee, II
President, Spring Hill College

Rev. Scott R. Pilarz, S.J.
President, The University of Scranton

Dr. Antoine M. Garibaldi
President, University of Detroit Mercy

Rev. Paul J. Fitzgerald, S.J.
President, University of San Francisco

Rev. Michael J. Graham, S.J.
President, Xavier University

Rev. Michael J. Garanzini, S.J.
President, Association of Jesuit Colleges and Universities

Rev. William P. Leahy, S.J.
President, Boston College

John J. Hurley, J.D.
President, Canisius University

Rev. Philip L. Boroughs, S.J.
President, College of the Holy Cross

Rev. Daniel S. Hendrickson, S.J.
President, Creighton University

Dr. Mark R. Nemec
President, Fairfield University

Rev. Joseph M. McShane, S.J.
President, Fordham University

Dr. John J. DeGioia
President, Georgetown University

Dr. Thayne M. McCulloh
President, Gonzaga University

Dr. Michael D. Johnson
President, John Carroll University

Dr. Linda M. LeMura
President, Le Moyne College

Dr. Timothy Law Snyder
President, Loyola Marymount University

Dr. Jo Ann Rooney
President, Loyola University Chicago

Rev. Brian F. Linnane, S.J.
President, Loyola University Maryland